This land of the eternal snow peaks is the transition zone from the plains to the high Himalayas and the trans-Himalayan region of Lahaul and Spiti actually crosses the mighty barrier to the Tibetan plateau. The State is bordered by Jammu and Kashmir in the north, Punjab in the west, Haryana in the south, Uttar Pradesh in the southeast and Tibet in the east.

Geographically speaking, Himachal is dominated by mountains and valleys and their associated rivers. The mountains include Leo Pargial (6791m) in Kinnaur; Deo Tibba (6001m) near Manali, Kinnaur Kailash (6050m) to name a few. The mountain passes, such as the Rohtang La (3978m), Baralacha La (4950m) and Kunzum La (4551m), are pivotal points between culturally distinct regions. 'La' is a Tibetan word meaning pass. In winter, Lahaul and Spiti are completely isolated when these passes are blocked by snow. The Valleys are the easiest way to segregate the State, the major ones are namely - Lahaul and Spiti valleys in the northeast and east; Parbati and Kullu valleys in the centre and south, Kangra valley in the west; and Chamba and Pattan valleys in the north west